Right way to configure #ISCSI #initiator in #Windows Server 2012 R2   23 comments

Lately I see a lot of questions about iscsi and not working or slow connections.

there is an easy way to fix this I have never had any issues with the windows initiator.

How do you start this.  Configuration by powershell , If you don’t know the commands there is an easy way to look this up.

get-command *iscsi*

image Now there is a nice list of all the Command lets.

But I this blog I use the Gui more that the screens also work for any other version than windows server 2012 R2.

go to the control panel or server manager and find ISCSI initiator.

image

image 

Click on discover portal and type the ISCSI target IP

image

Easy as this but here are most errors started, a lot are just click on OK this is so wrong Winking smile

Go click advanced  Wooowo whole new screen

image

see what happened when you click OK everything is default.

image image

after selecting the local adapter and set it on Microsoft ISCSI Initiator and select the Nic where your ISCSI IP is located.

This is the right way to configure ISCSI.

Remember Multi path is using the same config

Posted August 27, 2013 by Robert Smit [MVP] in Windows Server 2012 R2

Tagged with

23 responses to “Right way to configure #ISCSI #initiator in #Windows Server 2012 R2

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Microsoft Most Valuable Professional (MVP) – Best Posts of the Week around Windows Server, Exchange, SystemCenter and more – #44 - Flo's Datacenter Report

  2. Pingback: Microsoft Most Valuable Professional (MVP) – Best Posts of the Week around Windows Server, Exchange, SystemCenter and more – #44 - TechCenter - Blog - TechCenter - Dell Community

  3. Pingback: Microsoft Most Valuable Professional (MVP) – Best Posts of the Week around Windows Server, Exchange, SystemCenter and more – #44 | Eskchi

  4. Pingback: Whats new in Windows Server 2012 R2 Storage? - Flo's Datacenter Report

  5. Thanks)

  6. Pingback: configuring windows server 2012 r2 essentials | PDF Finder

  7. Thats breathtaking…

  8. Hello….I have everything setup like this, but I can’t get my drives to show up…. My setup is Laptop hosting VMware 11…. I have 1 domain controller
    and 1 Celerra simulator and one ESXI 5.5 server and 1 VMCenter console. In Vcenter I have 2 2012R2 servers…. I have the Celerra showing up with the
    IQN on both servers and I did as you said in this post… I removed it and added it back in with IP addy of Celerra and local adapter with Initiator IP..On my Celerra, I have the Target setup with three Luns and both Microsoft servers are showing up under connected initiators, but I still don’t have the drives setting up when I rescan in disk management. The only thing I can think of is that 2012r2 needs scsi3 persistence, but I am not sure that is my problem, as I thought I read celerra handles scsi3…. Any ideas?

  9. how do i do this via powershell? I’ve tried but can’t seem to find the right cmdlets and options to do this…

  10. Hi there, I have a iSCSI connection to a Synology NAS.
    When i disable the target from my NAS and re-enable it, the iSCSI initiator on my server is taking about 90secs before is about to connect back. is this normal or how can i reduce to reconnect time?

  11. Great writing, question! After configured my iSCSI target and initiator picked up the default IP (forget to click advance to configure the desired initiator IP), Is there a way that I can change my windows iSCSI initiator IP to my designated IP (another IP apart from default)?

  12. Pingback: How To Configure File Server In Windows 2008 R2 Pdf | Goods News

  13. Pingback: How To Configure Iscsi On Windows Server 2008 R2 | Goods News

  14. This is what i did, i configured each of the step by step but i can only see 20MB on each of the disk. Each of the disk is 15BT. any idea?

  15. how do you find the IP for “discover target portal”

  16. so ipconfig and then it will be my ipv4 address? because when i enter that in my can 192.168.2.2 I get a box pop up that says “”connection failed”

    • Remember it is the IP address where your disks are located (storageserver). and not the connecting server ip. If you can’t connect to your storage server or ping than you should lookin to that. Firewall virus scanner.

      So on one server you have created 4 disks and give access to the other server or desktop. and on this desktop you connect to the server where the disks are located. that easy.

Leave a Reply

  • Twitter

